Peanut Butter Bread

My friend Matt and I taking a break for a new photo during our Christmas baking.

My friend Matt and I taking a break for a new photo during our Christmas baking.

My friend Matt came over again this year to hang out and do a little holiday baking. This time we tried an old recipe that is new to us. I found it while browsing my Fannie Farmer cookbook for potential holiday baking ideas. I haven’t made much bread. Mainly just cornbread, biscuits, scones, and banana bread. So, I was particularly interested in the quick bread section of my cookbook when I found this recipe for peanut butter bread!!! I had to try it. I love peanut butter fudge (though, I’ve never made it myself), and peanut butter bars, and every man in my life is a huge fan of peanut butter! Friends, family, David. They come out of the woodwork when the smell of peanut butter wafts through the air.  This one will be a true man pleaser!

I know David will love this, but I already have an order in for chocolate crinkle cookies for his Christmas treat this year. I’m making Oreo truffles for our Christmas Eve dinner at my mom’s house. Matt and I knew we wanted to bake something so we decided this would be a perfect time to test out such an interesting recipe. And we were NUTS for this bread! Thank goodness we had dinner and games to play, because this bread was so easy, there wasn’t much for us to do! It takes no time to gather the few ingredients, and the clean up was a piece of cake. The smell was heavenly, the texture was surprising and delightful, and it tasted more like peanut butter than I even thought. Pleasantly sweet, but not overpoweringly so. It’s so much like just lightly sweetened peanut butter in bread form to me. I hope you’ll try it too!

pbbread

100_0052

Ingredients:

2 c all purpose flour

1/3 c sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 c peanut butter

1 c milk

1 egg, well beaten

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. Grease a loaf pan.  (I use vegetable shortening.)
  3. Put the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.
  4. Add the peanut butter, milk, and egg, and mix until well blended.
  5. Spoon into the pan and bake for about 50 minutes.
  6. Remove from the pan and cool on a rack.

What about the sugar?

I think this could be okay for those who are watching their sugar intake.  It makes a nice size loaf and you only add in 1/3 cup of sugar to make the bread.  With 3/4 cup of peanut butter, it also has a good amount of protein.  I think this and the texture and flavor of the bread also makes it a good choice for children, if you’re sure the child doesn’t have a peanut allergy.

Tips:

  • Matt and I sprinkled our loaf with brown sugar.  It was a very thin sprinkling, because the loaf bakes for around 50 minutes and we didn’t want it to burn.  I definitely recommend this.
  • I want to try using half brown sugar and half white.
  • I think this would be great with chocolate chips added.
  • I would loooove to try frying some bananas to put over top of this.
  • I also think this would be good with a glaze, or maybe even some cream cheese icing.
  • This is very easy and inexpensive and would be nice to give as a gift.
4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Bread

  1. Nice! Huge pb fan here. Would you say this is something that tastes better the next day? It just looks like the kind of thing that only gets better.

    • Thank you Susan! I definitely intend to visit your blog again. :) If you like this blog, you might want to check out my other blog as well, Love Built to Last. It’s more active. I keep making the same favorites over and over so I’m just not posting as much here.

Leave a Reply

